• Email to friend
  • The Nassau Guardian Facebook Page
  • RSS Feed
  • Pinterest



K.B. and friends release volume four

Latest album covers the genres from rake n’ scrape, Junkanoo, soca, reggae and hip-hop
  • “K.B. and Friends Vol. 4” features music from Kirkland ‘K.B.’ Bodie himself, along with his friends, the late T’rez Hepburn, Wilfred Solomon, Colyn McDonald, Bazie, Papa Smurf, Jitana, Lady Sho, Creamo and two bands — K.B.’s own Stinkin’ Wayz and the New Entry Band out of Abaco. FILE

Guardian Lifestyles Editor

Published: May 17, 2013

  • Share This:

    Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email to friend Share

  • Rate this article:

He’s the artist that gave the country cult hits like “Just Cause She Fat”, “All the Meat”, “She Jump”, “Please, Please, Please”, “Civil Servant” and “Bush Mechanic” – songs that are so distinctive, he could not hide from them if he tried. With his newest album – “K.B. and Friends Vol. 4” – Kirkland ‘K.B.’ Bodie introduces his fans to another side of his artistry.

From a ballad to reggae, Junkanoo, rake n’ scrape, soca to a little hip-hop, “K.B. and Friends Vol. 4” offers something for everyone – including music from Bahamian legends like Wilfred Solomon, Colyn McDonald and the late T’Rez Hepburn to some of the newest artist to hit the scene.

The 13-song compilation, which was released in late April, opens with K.B. himself singing a catchy tune called “Stay With Me Forever (Be Mine) before the legendary Wilfred Solomon holds down the fort in true classic rake n’ scrape style with “When I Pass (Dey Laugh)”. Solomon is known for his days with The Magnetics and their hit classics like “Talkin’ Fool” and “Andros Island is Big and Long”.

Solomon is followed by Colyn McDonald of Visage fame who sings “Duck Down Low” before K.B. takes control off the album again, with a ballad with a reggae flair to it — “If Love Must Go”. Hepburn follows with “Shake It Up (Lemme See U Shake)”.

Bazie also offers a classic rake n’ scrape offering with “Cause Da Music Sweet” that will have people definitely shaking their legs with his sweet offering.

Also on the album is Papa Smurf, who sings “Hopin’ To See U (When the World Ends) featuring K.B. And if you don’t know Jitana, Lady Sho and Creamo, you will know them by the end of the album. Jitana sings “U Don’t Know Me”. Lady Sho tells people to “Work Ya Waist and Wind” while Creamo sings “Creamo Come Back Home.”

K.B.’s band Stinkin’ Wayz which won the local leg of the Global Battle of the Bands (GBOB) competition and competed in London also has an offering on the album, “I Never Cry”, while the New Entry Band out of Abaco sings “Excited”.

The final song on the album pays homage to the country’s Christian roots with K.B. himself belting out “Bridge Ova’ Troubled Water” with a K.B. twist of course as he took you to church — the Jumper church that is, which was a fitting rounding out to the compilation.

The album is definitely a mixture of genres.

“We wanted the album to be younger, but I wanted to get with everyone and do something different that would attract all generations,” said K.B. of his new release. Of his switch from his usual upbeat soca and rake n’ scrape sounds, he said the music he would normally do that sounded like his former hits like “Bush Mechanic” or Civil Servant” he gave to other artists to perform, as he opted for a more “adult” sound.

Since its release “K.B. and Friends Vol. 4” has been getting excellent rotation on the airwaves and is available in all record stores and Internet music sites.

“It’s a great album and I like the response we’re getting. The people are feeling it,” he said.

This content has been locked. You can no longer post any comment.


Today's Front Page

  • Enewspaper
  • Enewspaper
  • Enewspaper
  • Enewspaper

  • http://www.ansbacher.bs
  • http://www.walkinclinicbahamas.com
  • http://www.cfal.com
  • http://www.colinageneral.com
  • http://www.Colina.com