• Email to friend
  • The Nassau Guardian Facebook Page
  • RSS Feed
  • Pinterest


BGF names 12-member team for junior golf championships

Guardian Sports Reporter

Published: May 17, 2013

  • Share This:

    Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email to friend Share

  • Rate this article:

A 12-member team was selected by the Bahamas Golf Federation (BGF) to represent the country at the upcoming Caribbean Amateur Junior Golf Championships.

The official names were released by BGF President James Gomez who believes the mixed squad will do very well when they tee off against the other countries in the region. Team Bahamas will hit the greens July 1-6, at the North Sound Golf Club, in the Cayman Islands. The Bahamian golfers will join their Caribbean counterparts from the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Tobago, Jamaica, Barbados, the United States Virgin Islands (USVI) and the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS) on the 18-hole championships course.

An optimistic Gomez said the team will have about six weeks to train before heading over to the Cayman Islands.

“This is one of our strongest teams, a group of well-rounded young men and women,” said Gomez, as he congratulated each member on being selected to the squad. “When you look at, or break the age divisions down, I would say that the 11-13 boys will do well. Both Xavier Robinson and Cameron Riley are playing very well. The 14-15 boys are strong as well. Asif Robinson, Lucas Echeverri and Craig Gomez have improved over the years and have all played at this tournament before.

“As for the girls, they are very strong as well and should be up in the rankings. This is a mixed squad of players from Freeport and New Providence. The six weeks of training will assist tremendously and is an integral part of their training. Training will start next week for all players, that includes the ones from Freeport as well. The players in New Providence will be at either the driving range at the Baillou Hills Sporting Complex or at the Lyford Cay Club.”

The selected members are Xavier Robinson, Cameron Riley and Tynesha Tynes in the 11-13 boys and girls divisions, Inecia Rolle, L’Leah Lain, Lucas Echeverri, Asif Robinson and Craig Gomez in the 14-15 boys and girls, and Brian Coakley, Harrison Collins, Asiyah Robinson and Marlique Heild in the 16-17 boys and girls divisions.

The annual trials were held over the weekend. Coakley won the 16-17 boys division with a two-round score of 162 and Collins followed with a 175. Echeverri was the winner in the 14-15 boys division, and Asif Robinson and Craig Gomez followed. The top two in the 11-13 boys were Xavier Robinson and Riley. Asiyah Robinson won the 16-17 girls and Rolle was the winner in the 14-15 division. Tynes closed the day with a 228 and took the 11-13 girls division.


This content has been locked. You can no longer post any comment.


  • http://www.ansbacher.bs
  • http://www.walkinclinicbahamas.com
  • http://www.cfal.com
  • http://www.colinageneral.com
  • http://www.Colina.com