• Email to friend
  • The Nassau Guardian Facebook Page
  • RSS Feed
  • Pinterest


Breaking News:

NPSA All-Star games to be held tonight

  • The annual All-Star games will be the highlight on the New Providence Softball Association's (NPSA)calendar this weekend.

Guardian Sports Reporter

Published: Jul 13, 2013

  • Share This:

    Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email to friend Share

  • Rate this article:

With one game separating the first four teams in the women’s division of the New Providence Softball Association (NPSA), executives believe pitchers from those squads will be sending ‘heat’ across the plate when they take to the field again.

But players will have to wait until Tuesday to bag a win in the regular season, as the annual All-Star games will be the highlight on the NPSA’s calendar this weekend. Players were selected based on the statistics from the first half of the season.

Making the cut for President’s Team, on the women’s side, are Ernestine Stubbs, Jeanette Hilton, Donette Edwards, Alissa Albury, Lashanta Fowler, Lynsday Clarke, Shirlene Mackey, Katrel Dorsette, Vonette Nairn, Amarge Taylor, Melinda Bastian, Vanrika Rose, Keisha Miller, Lashanda Bethel, Shonte Cargill, Antonia Simms and Candice Smith. Carl Johnson and Nerissa Johnson will coach that team. Stephen Beneby is the team’s manager.

The pitchers on the Vice President’s Team are Brerisha Fawkes and Thela Johnson. Marissa Burrows and Shevette Taylor are the catchers while Crystal Delancey and Trevez Bridgewater will play first base. Stephanie Goodridge and Deandra Hart were selected for the second base position, and Maryann Ferguson and Tyrice Curry the third base. Other team members include Treika Munroe Jeannine Wallace, Vernita Evans, Shequel Smith, Ruth Coakley, Tikara Collie, Shantyna Stuart and Latonya Bowleg. Mario Ford is the team’s manager while Sharlene Farrington and Michael Dillette will coach.

The top players in the men’s divisions were also selected to play in this year’s game. The president’s list will feature ace pitcher Alcott Forbes and Deval Storr who will go up against Avery Rolle and Chris Curry. Both Rolle and Curry are on the Vice President’s Team.

Angelo Dillete and Zhivargo Archer are the catchers for the President’s squad; Adrian Pinder and Keron Sands will play first base. The second basemen are Maitland Demeritte and Kieron Munroe. Eric Johnson, Henry Martin, Philip Johnson and Ken Wood are the remaining infielders. Outfielders are Jordon Gibson, Antonio Burrows, Addie Finley, Lavaugh Ferguson, Richard Bain and Dino Sweeting.

Coaching the Vice President’s Team is Andy Percentie. His team includes Daryle Dorsette, Garfield Bethel, Lamar Watkins, William Delancy, Winston Seymour Jr., Edron Knowles, Sherman Ferguson, Stennard Duncombe, D’Kyle Rolle, Lorenza Carter, Martin Burrows Jr. and Dean Rigby.

The All-Star players will take to field after the junior girl’ game and the media versus the NPSA’s executives and officials. The first pitch will be thrown at 5:30 p.m. All games will be played at the Bankers Field, located in the Baillou Hill Sporting Complex.


This content has been locked. You can no longer post any comment.


  • http://www.ansbacher.bs
  • http://www.walkinclinicbahamas.com
  • http://www.cfal.com
  • http://www.colinageneral.com
  • http://www.Colina.com