• Email to friend
  • The Nassau Guardian Facebook Page
  • RSS Feed
  • Pinterest


GB Chamber to hold elections tomorrow

President to run unopposed
  • The current Grand Bahama Chamber of Commerce (GBCC) team. The GBCC will hold elections tomorrow.

Published: Oct 29, 2013

  • Share This:

    Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Email to friend Share

  • Rate this article:

The Grand Bahama Chamber of Commerce will vote for its new board of directors for the 2013/14 year this week, in an election in which current President Barry Malcolm will run unopposed.

It has been a busy year for the chamber as they have had many prominent speakers on a variety of subjects including VAT, the viability of the Hawksbill Creek Agreement, review of current government policies and a visit from former Prime Minister of Barbados Owen Arthur.

In addition to the current president, returning Treasurer Tish Simmons and former Chamber member Carmel Churchill, who will run for secretary, are also running unopposed in the election, which will take place on Wednesday, October 30.

Second vice president will be contested by newcomer Billie Bowe, Benchmark Consulting, and closing out the executive of the board will be long standing chamber member, Leigh Termath, vying for first vice president against well known businessman, Raymond Jones.

The chamber also has 10 director positions; two of these will remain filled by Fiona Bellott and Sarah Kirkby, serving their second year on the board, leaving eight positions open.

New candidates vying for this year’s directors are: Lynn Lowe, Kelly’s; Larry Albury, Jetwash; Mick Holding, Grand Bahama Shipyard; Dan Romence, Bradford Marine; Kim Knowles, Hutcheson Development; Janet Albury, VIP Services; Derek Newbold, GBPA; Dwayne Fernander, Graham Thompson & Co.; Sam Rahming, McKinney, Bancroft & Hughes; Lawrence Palmer, Insurance Management; Dillon Knowles, consultant; Kevin D. Seymour, consultant; and Patra Albury, Pelican Bay Hotel.

“We would particularly like to thank Tony Lopez, GB Power Co.; Lisa Turnquest, Atlantic Medical; Randy Thompson, PharmaChem; Charles Pratt, GBPA; Donna Jones, H.G. Christie; Raquel Beneby-Hart, Out of the Box Bahamas; Terrance Carey, Bank of The Bahamas; Ivan Chestnut, Tropical Shopping; Jacy Whittaker, Parris, Whittaker and Co., and Manuel Ruiz, MSC, for their time and service to the chamber,” said Mercynth Ferguson, GBCC executive director/administrator. “Thanks to this team, we have had a strong resurgence of our chamber membership, and it has grown into a stronger cohesive group.”

Elections will take place at the monthly luncheon held at the Pelican Bay Hotel, Canal House.  All chamber members are invited to attend and those unable to attend may contact the chamber administration for proxy votes.

The new chamber board will continue its mantra “To provide the network to sustain, promote and support business development in an effort to encourage growth and expansion in the Grand Bahama economy and within a healthy and clean community environment”.

This content has been locked. You can no longer post any comment.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 29 October 2013 15:24

  • http://www.ansbacher.bs
  • http://www.walkinclinicbahamas.com
  • http://www.cfal.com
  • http://www.colinageneral.com
  • http://www.Colina.com